May Wrapup

DSC01860So this past month I read (yet again) a total of 7 books! I still haven’t gotten around to reading Cyndere’s Midnight and Sweetness at the bottom of the Pie. I participated in a readathon early this month which didn’t turn out as well as I had hoped, mostly because I was burnt out from doing a readathon the week before. Too many readathons in such a short period really wasn’t a smart choice. I ended up reading a lot of books that I just felt like reading – mainly The Monstrumologist and The Maze Runner (which I happened to finish this morning and OMG THAT ENDING). I also read Etiquette & Espionage for my Genre Book Challenge since it is probably the only book I own in the steampunk genre that I haven’t read. The books I read this month were:

  • Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
  • The Selection Stories by Kiera Cass
  • The One by Kiera Cass
  • Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger
  • Mermaid, Inc. by Caroline Mickelson
  • The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey
  • The Maze Runner by James Dashner

I have yet to write any reviews of these books yet because I’m so behind in my reviews. I will have them up soon though! That is a promise!

June Reads

DSC01863

My fish (Daenerys & Drogo) are creeping in the background.

I’ve realized recently that a majority of my books are TBR and I keep buying more and more books. So for this month I have decided on two things. 1) I’m putting myself on a book buying ban for the month of June. I have so many books at the moment I really don’t need any more. 2) I haven’t been reading a lot of my TBR pile books (aka books purchased before 2014) and I really want to focus on that. So I’m only going to be reading books in my TBR pile. To decide on what books I wanted to read I went and picked one per shelf (my books are organized by color). Since I’ve been in a really mood reading mode lately I picked books which I knew I would want to read soon.

Sadly, after taking this picture and putting the books back in their places I realized that Beauty Queens does not qualify for my TBR pile and I was really looking forward to reading this. Welp. So instead, I’ll be reading Wool by Hugh Howey with Isis for the Genre Book Challenge which is science fiction for the month of June. I’ll also be finishing The Flies of August by P. J. Lee from last month and continuing the readalong of A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness. I may end up reading different books than the ones I’ve chosen but I’ll definitely be sticking to my TBR rule. (On a side note – I’m a little sad that I can’t continue the Maze Runner series because I bought the rest of the books this year and I REALLY WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!)

Happy Reading!

❤ Scatty

