Tags

, , ,

Cinder (Lunar Chronicles, #1)

Hello lovelies! I hope you are all enjoying your read of Cinder. Below are the discussion questions to the first part of this read-along. Feel free to answer any or all the questions in the comments below or write your own post and link up here.

What were your first impressions?

I really love the world building in this book. Meyer has done such a great job in putting you into the world of New Beijing. You get a good feel and image for the place without being drowned in descriptive paragraphs. I like how the information is slowly given to you over time but at a good pace where you aren’t overwhelmed. I find the interactions between people and Cinder interesting, especially how the baker treats Cinder like a contagious disease. I’m also really interested in Letumosis and it’s origins. 

Why do you think people treat cyborgs like secondhand citizens or less than human?

I think this has something to do with the idea that most people are afraid of what they don’t know. Or maybe it’s because before the technology to create cyborgs, these people would have been dead. Maybe it’s the idea that these people are living on borrowed time and shouldn’t be around. Maybe it’s like terminator and people are worried that the machine will take over and soon all the cyborgs will want to kill off the humans. 

What could be so important that Prince Kai had to disguise himself to visit Cinder so she could fix Nainsi?

I know the answer to this so I’m not going to write an answer for this question >>

What are your impressions of Adri and why do you think Garan adopted Cinder if Adri never wanted her?

Again, I know the answer, but I’d love to see what other people who haven’t read the books think about this one. 

Why do you think Cinder is immune? Is it due to her cyber parts or where she came from or something else?

Yet another question I know the answer too. Though, knowing the answer, I kind of want to know more of how her immunity works. My science brain is intrigued. 

What connections/parallels can you draw between this and the fairy tale so far and how do you think they will play out later in the book?

Name aside, I think there is the obvious parallel of a girl having lost her father (though in this case adoptive father) and having to live with a stepmother and two stepsisters that don’t like or want her. I think everything else is pretty far from the fairy tale that I know. 

Who is your favorite character and why?

I really love Iko. I love how her mechanical fault isn’t much of a fault but her defining attribute. I love her personality and how she sounds and acts human to the point where I have to remind myself that she’s an android. I wonder if she was put into a humanoid would people actually think she was human.

Other thoughts?

I find the doctor really sketchy but at the same time entertaining. I’m curious about the Lunars and where they came from and how their powers of deception and illusion work out. I really like Meyers creation of Letumosis. I find it interesting how she’s planned out this disease with its four stages and how it just seemingly spreads everywhere. It’s like the bubonic plague but slower. 

The next discussion post (for chapters 18-31) will be hosted over at The Small Nerd by Isis on Monday. Feel free to post your answers to the above questions in the comments or make your own post and link back here. 

Happy Readings!

