Tags

, , , , ,

Eleanor & ParkBook Synopsis:

Published Feb 2013 by St. Martin’s Press
YA, Contemporary Romance | 325 pages
Set over the course of one school year in 1986, ELEANOR AND PARK is the story of two star-crossed misfits – smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love – and just how hard it pulled you under.

Book Review: ★★★★★

“Choose a romantic poem, that’s my advice. You’ll get the most out of it.”
Page 22 – Eleanor & Park

I read my first Rainbow Rowell novel (Fangirl) a few months ago. I fell in love at first read. Eleanor & Park was yet another love at first read and Rowell has blown me away yet again. I am not a huge fan of contemporary fiction, let alone romance. I read books to escape the world so why would I want to read one that could happen in said world? But regardless, Rowell has a way to pull me in, get invested and then lock me in a glass case of emotions.

Rowell writes her characters so well that you can’t help but get emotionally invested in them. I absolutely loved Eleanor and Park. Eleanor’s personality was just as flaming and un-tamable as her hair. I loved that she wasn’t the usual girl who doesn’t think she’s pretty but is in fact drop dead gorgeous. She was the girl that was gloriously chubby and yet everyone makes fun of her for it. I felt like I could really relate to her. Especially when confronted with the possibility of a boy touching her flabby bits.

It was also amazing how Rowell made Park a person of color. And a biracial person no less! I’ve never seen that in a book before. Min dae (his mother) was also hilariously wonderful.

Everything about this book was amazingly heartfelt. The ending tore my heart to shreds but then put it back together in the last page. Read this book it’s so good! Excuse me while I go have a book hangover over this book and curl into a ball sobbing my heart out. Feel free to discuss with me in the comments!

“It was like watching Paul Bunyan make out with one of those It’s A Small World dolls.”
Page 25 – Eleanor & Park

