Tags

, , , , , ,

Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, #1)Book Synopsis:

Anna #1
Published Sept 2011 by Tor Teen
YA, Horror, Paranormal | 369 pages
Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.

So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. They follow legends and local lore, destroy the murderous dead, and keep pesky things like the future and friends at bay.

Searching for a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas expects the usual: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.

Yet she spares Cas’s life.

Book Review: ★★★★★

“What about Birmingham? That place is so haunted you could take two a month and still probably have enough to make it through grad school.”
Page 26 – Anna Dressed in Blood

Every now and then I get into the mood to read a horror novel. Something that will make me regret reading into the wee hours of the night. I had seen this book around the book community and I heard that it was a great, creepy read. I bought it on sale and finally picked it up on the last few days of 2013.

I really enjoyed this book and the way it was written. It wasn’t as creepy as I expected it to be though, but maybe I’m just a tough cookie :p I felt the story was more gory than creepy. Although it did have its moments and there were times where I was regretting reading it before bed.

I felt it really refreshing to read a book from a male perspective. I feel a lot of the books I read lately, especially the YA ones, were all centered on girls. I really enjoyed the writing. It was succinct, funny, enticing and well done. The story was very vivid and in some instances really gruesome. But I loved every minute of it.

The story itself was super intriguing and enticing. I couldn’t have imagined how the story would go and I was pleasantly surprised with the ending. The first gruesome scene took me completely by surprise. The plot got very serious really fast and I was really excited to see how things would turn out. I even bought the sequel before I finished because I knew I would want to read it. I’m really excited to see what it has in store for us, though I’m not sure what to expect because I feel like this novel was fairly wrapped up.

If you want a creepy and gruesome read, I highly recommend this book.

“I smile quietly. She is with me all the time. I feel stupid now, for not seeing it sooner. But hey, at least we’ll have this strange story to tell, love and death and blood and daddy-issues. And holy crap, I am a psychiatrist’s wet dream.”
Page 288 – Anna Dressed in Blood

