Tags

, , , , , ,

Cinder (Lunar Chronicles, #1)Book Synopsis: 

Lunar Chronicles #1
Published in January 2012 by Feiwel & Friends
YA, Science Fiction | 384 pages
Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. 

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Book Review: ★★★★★

I absolutely LOVED this book! I was a bit hesitant to read this at first. It was blowing up in the online book community and I don’t always enjoy those popular books. This was, however, recommended to me by Isis and I’m so glad I listened. Within the first few pages I was in love! I knew from the name and from reviews that this novel was a retelling of Cinderella, but it turned out to only be in a very broad sense.

Meyer has created a whole new (futuristic) world. The descriptions are wonderful and simple. You are just instantly transported into this world. I absolutely loved that Cinder was a cyborg. it just made everything so interesting and fascinating. The introduction of a fatal pandemic with no cure was just the icing on the cake.

The characters were very well done. They each had their own voice and were very three-dimensional. I even started loving the android! Despite the fact that I figured out the big reveal half way through, I was still very surprised by the end of the novel. It ended with a huge cliff hanger and I can’t wait to start book two.

I’m so glad I read this book! New instant favorite series and author. I highly recommend this to everyone!

