Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

top-ten-tuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and The Bookish.  Each week a new top ten list is posted, and to participate all you have to do is fill in YOUR top ten for the list. This week’s list is:

Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013

So this year I’ve read majority new-to-me authors. Out of all the authors whose books I’ve read, only 6 of them were not new to me…. So in no particular order here my top ten favorites. 

1. Melissa Meyer – I finally got a copy of Cinder because my friend works at Barnes and Noble, let me use her employee discount, and my other friend was baggering me to read it. OMG SO GOOD! I just got Scarlet and can’t wait to start it. 

2. Rick Riordan – yes I’m late to the game on this author. But thanks to the same baggering friend as above I’ve binge read two of his series. I’ll start on HoO when my library decides to open again… or if I just go and buy them myself. 

3. Rainbow Rowell – I read Fangirl for Tumblr’s Book Club and HERMAGERD! It was so surprisingly good and I seriously need to get my own copy of it. (yes it’s one of those MUST OWN kind of books). I also need to read her other novels soon.

4. Patrick W. Carr – I read an ARC of A Cast of Stones and loved it. Great epic fantasy writer. I really should look more into his work. 

5. Michelle Hodkin – If you haven’t read the Mara Dyer trilogy YOU SHOULD DO SO NOW! Dark, creepy, believable romance, PLOT TWISTS THAT YOU COULDN’T EVEN BEGIN TO IMAGINE! Can’t wait for the last book to be released. 

6. Tamora Pierce – I read the first in the Alanna series. I had never read her books before but so good! I need to keep up with that series. 

7. Jill Shultz – she offered me a copy of her novel Angel on the Ropes for a review. It was so well written that it felt like a piece of art!

8. Kiersten White – Her novel The Chaos of Stars was a fun quick read. A really interesting take on mythology. 

9. Patricia Bracewell – I received and ARC of her novel Shadow on the Crown. Amazing historical fiction. 

10. Ted Dekker – I picked up his book, BoneMan’s Daughter, from my school library on a whim. It was dark and creepy and very interesting. 

