Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The Red Pyramid (Kane Chronicles, #1)Author: Rick Riordan
Series: Kane Chronicles #1
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Publication Date: May 2010
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 516
Book Description: Since their mother’s death, Carter and Sadie have become near strangers. While Sadie has lived with her grandparents in London, her brother has traveled the world with their father, the brilliant Egyptologist, Dr. Julius Kane. 

One night, Dr. Kane brings the siblings together for a “research experiment” at the British Museum, where he hopes to set things right for his family. Instead, he unleashes the Egyptian god Set, who banishes him to oblivion and forces the children to flee for their lives. 

Soon, Sadie and Carter discover that the gods of Egypt are waking, and the worst of them —Set— has his sights on the Kanes. To stop him, the siblings embark on a dangerous journey across the globe – a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and their links to a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs.

Having just finished Percy Jackson and the Olympians, I had high expectations when starting this series. Carter and Sadie are very young in this novel and it took me a while to get used to their voices and the fact that I was reading a book being told by preteens. I did really love a lot of the characters. Sadie was hilarious, Carter (oh poor silly Carter) and Bast was amazing. I love Bast. She is easily my favorite character.

The story itself was really interesting. Since Egyptian mythology is my favorite, I thoroughly enjoyed seeing all the stories come to life and get weaved into this novel. The writing was usual Riordan goodness. It flowed well, was easy to understand and the visualization just popped off the pages.

The only downside, I feel, was that this book felt more like setup for the series rather than a good first novel. We’re still getting used to the characters and trying to understand that there are Egyptian gods running rampant. The big problem is being introduced and I wish there were more characters that played a part of the solution like in Percy Jackson. I do really love the book and I am looking forward to see what lies next for Sadie and Carter.

My Rating: ★★★★

The Kane Chronicles: The Red Pyramid: The Graphic Novel (The Kane Chronicles: The Graphic Novel #1)Author: Rick Riordan

Adapted by: Orpheus Collar

Publication Date: October 2012

Pages: 192

As a comic adaptation I think they did a very good job. The story stuck very much to the novel. There were a few bits that were slightly changed or left out, but weren’t necessary for the overall plot of the story. I really hope they’re going to continue making adaptations for the rest of the series.

