Tags

, , , , , , ,

The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #4)

Author: Rick Riordan
Series: Percy Jackson & the Olympians #4
Publisher: Disney Hyperion Books
Publication Date: March 2008
Genre: Young Adult, Fiction
Pages: 361
Buy: The Book Depository

Book Description: Percy Jackson isn’t expecting freshman orientation to be any fun. But when a mysterious mortal acquaintance appears on campus, followed by demon cheerleaders, things quickly move from bad to worse.
In this fourth installment of the blockbuster series, time is running out as war between the Olympians and the evil Titan lord Kronos draws near. Even the safe haven of Camp Half-Blood grows more vulnerable by the minute as Kronos’s army prepares to invade its once impenetrable borders. To stop the invasion, Percy and his demigod friends must set out on a quest through the Labyrinth – a sprawling underground world with stunning surprises at every turn.

In this fourth installment of Percy Jackson and the Olympians, things are starting to get more intense. The Half-Bloods are fighting off the forces of Kronos (or joining them) while the gods are busy taking care of awakening Titan’s or minor gods causing trouble. The myth of the labyrinth is well known but Riordan took it to a whole new spin.

I love seeing all the well known characters grow up and develop throughout the books. The characters are maturing from their childhood years and showing the adolescents that they will fully become later on. I really enjoyed that Tyson came back and joined in the adventures. As the usual suspects travel through the maze we get to return to the intriguing plot line of the lost god, Pan. This plot line has always intrigued me and I’m glad to see it wrapped up (albeit not in away that I was expecting).

The end was lovely (and a little sad). There was a shocking/unexpected moment where I nearly spit out my drink. I have the last book with me now and I can’t wait to see how this series ends. Though now I’m starting to realize I need to own the whole series so that I can go back and reread it later on 🙂

My Rating: ★★★★★

