Tags

, , ,

The Legend of Finndragon's Curse (Tales of Finndragon, #1)

Author: Richie Earl
Series: Tales of Finndragon, Book 1
Publisher: Richard Phillips
Publication Date: December 2011
Genre: Children's Literature, Epic Fantasy
Pages: 268

Book Description: Three children racing against time, desperately searching for their missing father.
A medieval kingdom cursed by an evil wizard.
An ancient legend beneath our very feet.
The Legend of Finndragon’s Curse is the first book in a unique, two book fantasy adventure series and is a fast paced, engaging and thrilling page turner. The story races along with plenty of twists and turns as it heads for the prophesized confrontation between the children and the evil Finndragon himself.
Combining wizardry and magic with modern technology and containing magical animals and terrible demons, The Legend of Finndragon’s Curse is a rollercoaster of emotions that will make you laugh out loud and then fight to hold back the tears, as the children race against time to rescue their father. In doing so they have to kill Finndragon and put an end to the dreadful curse.

First Line: “Since their dad mysteriously disappeared eleven months ago, at the end of last summer vacation, Emma, Megan and Scott Davies now lived only with their mom Marie, in a large old Victorian, semi-detached house on the outskirts of town.”

*Book given by author in exchange for an honest review*

The witing syle was not one that I am overly fond of. There was nothing fundamentally wrong with it but it was a bit too simple for my tastes. There were a coupleof times when it felt a bit repetative, especiall during diaogue, but I’m marking that up to the fact that this is a young adult novel.

The characters were fun at times but sometimes they felt too similar. I also wished their individual personalities were more flushed out. The romance seemed a bit pushed and not all together necessary, but I am curious to see where it will go.

What  really loved about the novel was the story line. It felt different and was very intriguing. Near the end I was starting to worry that it would end in a cliche where everything is wrapped up in a ‘happily ever after’. But then I remembered there is a sequel. The story kept me wanting more, which I think is important in any good book, and even now I’m curious to know what will happen xt. The endng made me rage and now I need to start book 2. I won’t tell you what happened though, you’ll have to read it to find out.

Rating: ★★★.5

(emoticons to come later when I return from vacation)

The author is also having a book blog tour. Go check out his site to see other reviews, guest posts and more! And come back here June 8 for my review of Return to Finndragon’s Den!

