Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #2)

Author: Michelle Hodkin
Series: Mara Dyer #2
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: October 2012
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, 
Thriller
Pages: 527
Buy: The Book Depository

Book Description: Mara Dyer once believed she could run from her past.
She can’t.
She used to think her problems were all in her head.
They aren’t.
She couldn’t imagine that after everything she’s been through, the boy she loves would still be keeping secrets.
She’s wrong.
In this gripping sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, the truth evolves and choices prove deadly. What will become of Mara Dyer next?

First Line: “You will love him to ruins.”

Like I mentioned in my review of the first in this series, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, I went and purchased this book immediately after finishing the previous. I absolutely loved the first book with its romance and thrilling/creepy moments and the cliffhangers, but this book was EVEN BETTER.

I had NO idea that the story was going to go in this direction and now I’m left with even more questions than answers and having to wait six months for the final installment to be published. The creepy factor has gone WAY up and there were moments where I seriously regretted reading it at 3 or 5 in the morning.

The writing is so amazing that there were times where I had to remind myself that I am not Mara Dyer and the events were not happening to me. But Hodkin’s style of writing an her amazing talent made me want to cry with Mara or rage with her as she went through all the ordeals.

The characters are still amazing and you meet some new players who are either interesting, freaky, sick in the mind or maniacal. The story has taken a turn for the worst better and I have no idea what is going to happen next. This series has become an immediate favourite and so has the author. I want to scream from the rooftops that everyone should read this book.

Seriously, it’s amazing and I have no idea why it hasn’t gotten more notice from the online book communities (or at least the ones I am part of).

My Rating: ★★★★★

     

