Tags

, , , ,

Other Systems

Author: Elizabeth Guizzetti
Publisher: 48Fourteen
Publication Date: April 2012
Genre: Science Fiction, Adult Fiction
Pages: 460

Book Description: Ten large ships race toward Earth, broadcasting in every language: “Brothers and sisters, we come in peace and in need. We have found our way home.” The fear of a coming invasion begins the worldwide riots of 3062. 
Yet, not all Earthlings fear attack. The newcomers, long lost descendants of Earth, speak of a paradise ninety-four light years away. Kipos is a land of plenty where there has never been hunger, murder, or war. However, they need more healthy young immigrants for the colony to thrive.
Many accept their offer to be tested. After assessment, Abby Boyd Lei is among the chosen. She leaves the protection of her family with dreams of higher education, a good job, and a kind-hearted spouse.
Will Kipos be everything she imagined? Abby is about to discover the cost of utopia.

First Line: “Nax to Antria – your crew manifest shows that you are not in compliance with current Kipos Reproduction Law,” were the most terrifying words Captain Cole Alekos believed he had ever heard until the night he awoke with someone pounding on his hatchway, the emergency lights flashing, and his youngest screaming through the adjoining door.”

*Book provided by the author in exchange for an honest review*

I never realized until recently that I’m not a big fan of science fiction. I always assumed that I liked both scifi and fantasy (seeing as how they are usually clumped together), but I realized that I hadn’t read very many scifi books. So, I was afraid that I wouldn’t like this book but I took the chance anyway since it sounded very interesting. It also came with high recommendations from my two best friends.

The writing is very well done. So well done, in fact, that oftentimes I started to feel exactly what the characters were feeling (which is rather hard to do). I really loved the science parts interspersed with the story. Instead of just describing aliens and technology, Guizzetti actually explained it scientifically which I really enjoyed. Her imagination to create this story and these species is incredible. And it was so easy to picture it with the way she wrote it down.

The plot was interesting, though I can’t say I was really surprised by the turn of events. I really enjoyed the second half of the book with the new worlds and species. I loved seeing the interaction between the crew members and their friends off ship.

WARNING: The first half of the book is really intense. It contains explicit rape and mention of rape. This book could be very triggering to certain people. I personally had a hard time reading through those parts and even after it took me a while to sort through my thoughts and feelings on it. It is not for the faint of heart.

One of my favorite parts of the novel was the fluid sexuality. I loved how the fact that fluid sexuality was a norm and that it wasn’t a huge focus of the novel was refreshing. It was nice to see that it was a part of the book without having a huge spotlight focused on it. Actually, their outlook on sexuality and sex in general was really nice and I wish that our society was like it.

Like my fellow nerds, I would highly recommend this book to fans of science fiction. However, I do have to warn that it isn’t for the faint of heart and it could be really upsetting for some people.

My Rating: ★★★★.5

     

