Tags

, , , , , ,

The Sword of Truth (The Godling Chronicles, #1)

Author: Brian D. Anderson
Series: The Godling Chronicles, Book One
Publisher: JKS Communications
Publication Date: August 2012
Genre: Epic Fantasy
Pages: 346
Buy: The Book Depository

Book Description: Darkness comes as a new power rises in Angrääl. The Dark Knight has betrayed the Gods and stolen The Sword of Truth, trapping them in heaven. With the power of the Sword he can reshape the world and bring death to all who oppose him.
Only one thing stands between the darkness and the light. Gewey Stedding. Only he has the power to stand against the oncoming storm.
Only he can mend the world. But only if he can discover his power…

First Line: “It was all the Dark Knight could do to keep his teeth from chattering.”

*Book provided by JKS Communications in exchange for an honest review.*

I wasn’t impressed when I first started this story. The writing was mediocre and the plot was cheesy. The further along I got the more interested I became. While the writing wasn’t amazing, there was nothing blaringly wrong with it. My biggest problem with the writing was that I felt there was too much dialogue.

I liked the overall plot and I’m a bit curious to see where the story will go. There are a few cheesy moments and fantasy clichés, but it was still interesting enough to read. The romance, for example, was so typical and mushy that I’m not sure how I feel about it.

The characters were okay. Most I didn’t like and there were many instances when I felt they were too similar. I feel like the characters weren’t flushed out enough to stand out or be unique. I was also confused as to why he had unique names like Kaylia, Millet, etc and then had others like the Dark Knight and the Sword of Truth.

I’m not sure if I’ll continue the series. I’m curious but I don’t feel like the story held my interest enough.

My Rating: ★★★

 

