Tags

, , , , , , ,

The Fault in Our Stars

Author: John Green
Publisher: Dutton Books
Publishing Date: 2012
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 313
Buy: The Book Depository

Book Description: Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 13, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs… for now. 

Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault. 

Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind.

Words cannot describe how amazing this book is. But I will try. This is the second John Green book I’ve read and I was not let down.

The book is believable and catching. It draws you in so that all you can do is sit there until the book is finished. I like how even though the plot seems simple – perhaps boring – in of itself (cancer girl finds love with a cancer boy), the story and writing is so well done that you can’t put the book down. The characters are relate-able (at least in my opinion). I loved Augustus the most. He cracked me up even till the end.

I love how John Green had hilarious scenes and then would put in one or two sentences of deep and thought provoking ideas. This is the type of book that makes you think. And while I’m not always a fan of those, I love how John Green works it into his stories.

While the story is a love story it has both its happy and sad moments. And I enjoyed that emotional roller coaster. I stayed up till four in the morning finishing the book. And then immediately afterward I called my boyfriend to tell him how much he means to me. Yes I cried while reading this book – as did probably many others who read it. I cried because I could see myself in the shoes of the characters. I could picture the heartbreak and it felt real to me at times. I was probably reading through teary eyes for the last 50 or so pages.

It is an amazing book about life, love, loss and hope. I highly recommend it to teens, young adults and adults. It is definitely a book I’ll pick up and read again when I’m in the mood for a sad and yet happy love story.

My Rating: ★★★★★

    

