Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Author: Darren Shan
Series: Cirque du Freak, Book #2
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication Date: 2004
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal 
Horror
Pages: 241
Buy: The Book Depository

Book Description: The Vampire’s Assistance is the compelling sequel to the frightening and horrifically imaginative Cirque du Freak. Darren Shan was just an ordinary schoolboy until he visited a mysterious freak show that led him on a journey into the dark world of vampires. Author Darren Shan’s vivid detail and original voice will have young readers glued to their seats in terror with this second book of the Cirque du Freak series. 

Compared to the first book this one wasn’t as seat gripping until the end. The first bit went a bit slowly, and while it was interesting, nothing was really scary or horrifying. The end though was the worst.

During the last 30 or so pages I was crouched in my seat wide eyed reading the events. I knew what was going to happen but I didn’t want them to.

What I like most about this young adult series is that it reminds you that the world isn’t perfect and it doesn’t always end happily. While I may be sad about what happened, I am glad that the ending wasn’t the perfect happy wrap up that many young adult books have. It was refreshing to see that a book targeted to a younger generation is blunt about the realities of the world.

My Rating: ★★★★

  

