Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Author: Darren Shan
Series: Cirque du Freak, Book #1
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication Date: 2004 edition
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, 
Horror
Pages: 257
Buy: The Book Depository

Book Description: In the tradition of Stephen King’s Salem’s Lot, the bestselling Cirque du Freak is the frightening saga of a boy whose visit to a mysterious freak show leads him on a journey into a dark world of vampires. Author Darren Shan’s vivid detail and original voice will have readers glued to their seats in terror. 

My dear friend Hecate forced book two of this series on me to read. She loved them so much she demanded I read it to so, per her request, I borrowed the first book from the library.

As a creepy young adult book, I was not let down. This book made me shudder, gag, stare wide eyed at the pages and yell at the character for the stupid decisions he made. While the character made stupid decisions and life choices I did like the book a lot. The writing style is fluid and easy to read. The descriptions were well done and the creepy factor was spot on.

I would have loved this series when I was younger. If your kid or younger relative is into creepy and paranormal stories I would recommend this series to them. Though they may have nightmares for a while.

WARNING: do not read this book alone and late at night.

My Rating: ★★★★★

   

