Tags

, , , , , ,

Author: Nancy Richler
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 29, 2013
Genre: Historical Fiction
Pages: 257
Buy: The Book Depository

Book Description: In the wake of World War II, a young, enigmatic woman named Lily arrives in Montreal on her own, expecting to be married to a man she’s never met. But, upon seeing her at the train station, Sol Kramer turns her down. Out of pity, his brother Nathan decides to marry her instead, and pity turns into a deep—and doomed—love. It is immediately clear that Lily is not who she claims to be. Her attempt to live out her life as Lily Azerov shatters when she disappears, leaving a new husband and a baby daughter with only a diary, a large uncut diamond – and a need to find the truth Who is Lily and what happened to the young woman whose identity she stole? Why has she left and where did she go? It’s up to the daughter Lily abandoned to find the answers to these questions, as she searches for the mother she may never find or truly know.

ARC provided by St. Martin’s Press & The Reading Room.

I was really excited to read this book because 1) the cover is brilliant, 2) the pretense is intriguing and 3) I really enjoy historical fictions written about World War II. My first impressions of this book were good. I loved the writing style. It was fluid and descriptive. It is very well written. But as I continued to read I started to get a bit bored. The story seemed to drag on in parts and I wasn’t sure of their importance.

While I could see the beauty of the writing and the story I just couldn’t keep with it. I couldn’t connect with the characters and what was happening. I could see how others would really enjoy this book though, and I’m a little sad I didn’t like it as much as I wanted to.

I loved how Richler wrote the story though. She had the missing mother and her daughter grow together throughout the book, even though their stories were in different times. This was done by having one chapter for the mother and one for the daughter, back and forth. I loved how it was written but it took too long to get to the answers for me to keep interest throughout the entire book.

The ending was a nice soft ending, but for me it didn’t seem very satisfying. While answers to questions were given I just wanted more. Unlike many other stories that have a slow rise, a climax and finally a denouement, this book didn’t have that. At least not from what I can tell. It was one of those books that had a steady pace to it. A heart-warming type of book. While this may not have been everything I had hoped it would be I would definitely read other books by this author. I love the way Richler wrote and I would recommend this book to fans of historical fiction and heart-warming stories.

My Rating: ★★★

  

