Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

A Cast of Stones (The Staff and the Sword, #1)

Author: Patrick W. Carr
Series: The Staff & The Sword Book 1
Publisher: Bethany House
Publication Date: February 1, 2013
Genre: Epic Fantasy, Fantasy, Fiction
Pages: 307 (ARC edition)
Buy: The Book Depository

Book Description: In the backwater village of Callowford, Errol Stone’s search for a drink is interrupted by a church messenger who has arrived with urgent missives for the hermit priest in the hills. Desperate for coin, Errol volunteers to deliver them – only to find himself hunted by deadly assassins. Forced to flee with the priest and a small band of travelers, Errol soon learns he’s joined a quest that could determine the fate of a kingdom. Amidst mounting dangers, Errol must leave behind his idle life, learn to fight, come to know his God – and discover his destiny.

(Book won through LibraryThing Early Reviewer)

When I first picked up this book I was really excited. The cover was enticing and the title was intriguing. Everything about this book interested me and I wanted to know more. But sadly, I was in a reading rut when I first tried reading this book. I just couldn’t get myself to sit and read more than a few pages at a time. I was resolved to force myself to read to get over this slump. I could not have used a better book to get over a reading slump.

This story is action packed within the first few pages. Even though I was having a hard time reading in longer chunks at first I still wanted to know. What could be so special about a 19 year old drunkard from a small town? What could possibly make him so special that someone tried to kill him twice in two days? As I continued to read, the mysteries only grew more complicated. I was getting more questions than answers. This book kept me on my toes as it followed the adventures of Errol Stone – the drunkard – as he travels from his small town village to the capital.

The writing flowed off the paper and I found myself in the forests and towns Errol traveled through. I could smell the sharp tang of copper during the fight scenes. It was well written without being bogged down in heavy descriptions. The only thing I wish this book had was a map of the world. Though since this is an ARC there may be one in the final copy.

The book end with a few questions still not answered. And of course a twist in the plot that makes you screaming because book two won’t be published until July. I will probably be ranting about this book to my friends for the next few months. It’s that good. Go buy a copy or preorder it now. You won’t regret it.

My Rating: ★★★★★

     

