Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Showstoppers

Author: Helen Smith
Series: Emily Castle Mystery Book Two
Publisher: Tyger Books
Publication Date: 2011
Genre: Mystery, Fiction
Pages: 75

Book Description: When twenty-six-year-old Londoner Emily Castles helps out at a local stage school, she’s soon mixed up in murder. She teams up with eccentric philosophy professor Dr. Muriel to solve the case.

I did not have high hopes for book two. I didn’t like book one at all and did not expect much from this second book. The only positive while reading this on the plane was that it was at least easier to understand the overall plot.

It was still very jumbled though and reminded me a lot of a short story Nancy Drew book. And to be honest I didn’t like those books either because they were too simple and Nancy felt like a ditz most of the time.

Emily Castles didn’t feel like a person. She felt very two dimensional to me and there were so many side characters that it was hard to keep track of who was who because frankly, there were all very similar. I also noticed that, similar to the first book, there were a lot of sexist things mentioned. I can’t think of any from this book but in the first one there was a bonfire and Emily automatically assumes it was built by men because it was huge and sturdy and only men could be strong enough to make such a good bonfire.

On top of that some of the descriptions were just odd. For example (I highlighted a really odd one to me):

Sunlight streamed from the tall windows along the corridor and dripped coppery highlights into Victoria’s plaits and Dolly’s liquorice-coloured curly hair: a woman dressed as a child from a story about a tornado-induced dream holding onto the hand of a child who was so beautiful Emily thought she looked as though she’d be able to create tornadoes and stories of her own one day.

I still don’t understand what kind of description that is.

This series has gotten plenty of great reviews on goodreads so maybe you’ll like it. But it was just not my cup of tea.

My Review: 

  

