Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

btt button

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by Deb about (mostly) books and reading. This week’s question:

Do you keep a list of the books you’ve read? How? In a journal? Through one of the online services? If so, WHY? To keep good records for future reference? To make sure you don’t accidentally reread? If not, why not? Too eager to move on to the next book? Too lazy? Never thought to bother?

I’ve only recently started to keep a list of books I’ve read. A few summers ago I was at home and went through ALL of my books (comics, manga, everything) and cataloged it alphabetical by author into a word doc. Then a year later I came across Shelfari. It’s an online service offered by amazon (so I was able to sign in through my amazon account) and proceeded to put in all the books I owned and read. I love this online site because it’s very easy to use, it’s pleasant to look at/deal with, and there’s a visual bookshelf that you can order, reorder and what not. I love keeping track because then I know what books I own, which of them I have yet to read, and I can also keep track of which books I want to own or ones that I want to read but don’t own. In the last month I joined Goodreads, TheReadingRoom and Library Thing, but none of them are as good as Shelfari for me. I like Library Thing second best because of the giveaways (which are also sometimes on Goodreads) but the chances of winning are much higher there. But those three sites, I’ve found, aren’t as easy to use as Shelfari.

I also have just started keeping a journal because the amount of series I read are just too insane so I write them down to keep track of which books in the series I have left to read. I also want to write down books I’ve read in a journal starting 2013, because it’s really fun to write down on paper or a site that I’ve finished yet another book. I also just have so many journals that I never use because I’m not good at keeping diaries but I love collecting journals. So I need to use them for something.

Well that was a much more long winded answer than I was expecting to give. What do my lovely readers have to say about this topic?

