Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Death's Avatar (The Descent Series, Prequel #0.5)Author: S.M. Reine
Series: Prequel to the Descents 
Series
Publisher: Red Idris Books
Publication Date: December 28, 2011
Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Urban 
Fantasy, Paranormal Romance
Pages: 79 (Novelette)

Book Description: For five years, Elise Kavanagh and James Faulkner have policed relations between Heaven, Hell, and Earth with blood and blade. They’re notorious as heroes and killers—the greatest demon hunting team to ever live. But they’re getting tired of fighting.
Now a Goddess of Death is driving the world toward destruction. When her doomsday clock reaches twelve, the barriers between Hell and Earth will be ripped away and bring humanity to extinction.
The clock just struck nine.
The world is running out of time.

This is the first book I’ve read of the series and having known nothing about the world or the characters it was a bit confusing at times. I felt that this novelette was rather rushed and found out at the end it was written in a week. Yes I understand that it is only 79 pages but it was so fast paced at times that I was dizzy with confusion. There were also stories that I hope get flushed out in the series. One thing I hope gets more explained is the relationship between Elise and James. I enjoyed reading James’s back story but was rather confused by this sudden romance between the two characters.

The plot and idea for the story were great and I think a nice introduction to the series itself. I do intend to keep reading. But the writing style kept me from truly loving this story. It felt rushed and a bit lacking at times. As another reviewer stated on Amazon, this would probably make a much better graphic novel. Overall it was a nice sneak peek into the series.

My Rating: ★★★

  

