Tags

, , , , , ,

btt button

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by Deb about (mostly) books and reading.

I love BEING a reader and simply can’t imagine what it’s like to go through life without being one.

Am I the only one who feels this way? That wonders at how other people can simply NOT do something that should be so essential? Who feels almost sad that so many people seem content to go through their lives without stretching their mental wings at all?

Can you imagine NOT being a Reader? How does it shape your life? Your perception of it?

How does being a Reader affect your relationship with all those folks who are looking at it from the other side and simply can’t understand how you can sit and READ all the time?

I think I’m going to answer this in some quotes:

I do not read for I have a renounced life, I read because one life is just not enough for me.
~ Abbas Al Akkad

And another

Reading gives us some place to go when we have to stay where we are.
~ Mason Cooley

And some more

Once you learn to read, you will be forever free.
~Frederick Douglass

I can’t imagine life without books. Well actually I can. I stopped reading for most of high school and the beginning of college (pleasure reading that is) and well… it was dreadful. I’m much happier now, even if I am sleeping less because I am reading. And for those that don’t read, I feel sad for them, not to know what a wonder it is to be transported into this whole new world. I can’t number the amount of times where I have been sad or angry at my life and just wanted to get away but physically couldn’t. Books saved me really. They made me want to live and strive through the hardships. They’ve made me a better person. They make me happy. It’s the reason I keep trying to get my boyfriend to read more, but sadly he’ll only read Doctor Who books and I’ve yet to find more than the copy we have.

