Tags

, , , ,

A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin is book two in his series A Song of Ice and Fire. It took me about 4 or 5 months to read A Game of Thrones (albeit I read about four books when I put the book down in August) and I have just started book two. And by just started I mean I’m on page 9… This book has 969 pages…

aGoT is the longest book I have read thus far. aCoK will be the next longest. I don’t know about other people, but sometimes when I’m deciding what book to read next and there’s a few that I am interested in, I choose the book with the least amount of pages thinking ‘I’ll finish this soon and go on to the next book!’. But that doesn’t always work. So when I finished aGoT and was really excited to start aCoK I checked the page number and found it really daunting. Almost 1000 pages?! Yikes!

But I love this series (book and TV) so much I picked it up and have started it. And for my dear friend Isis I will do my best to finish it by new years so we can fangirl together. Also my personal goal (and I think Isis’s too now) is to finish book 3 before season 3 of A Game of Thrones the TV show (on HBO) premieres. I believe that will be March 31, so I have approximately 4.5 months to finish two books (about 2,200 pages of tiny tiny print)… I CAN DO THIS!! Just have to keep trudging through and reminding myself that this series is awesome. I can do this. Wish me luck.

Did I mention that I’m a slow reader?

